I’m Finally Home – You’re Not Going to Believe This


I was discharged from the hospital Sunday with a PICC line.  For those of you who don’t know what that is (I sure didn’t), it is a catheter that goes into my arm, through my vein to my heart.  I have to administer IV antibiotics 3x/day for 4 weeks through this thing.  I have visiting nurses come weekly to take blood, change the dressing and make sure I’m doing ok.  Apparently, what happened is, the doc went in vaginally with a needle to access my ovaries.  Something was punctured and I bled into my pelvis.  The blood gathered there in a blood clot which bacteria easily got stuck onto and grew great, because I guess blood is a good medium for bacteria.  The infection went to my bloodstream, and I was in excruciating pain with 103 fever and the sickest I’ve ever been in my life.  Can you believe this?  You think you’re going in for a simple egg retrieval and you end up deathly ill in the hospital for 9 days with a bacterial infection in your blood.  Then you have to give yourself IV antibiotics 3 times a day.  I can’t take it.  I feel like crap.  The worst thing:  I have no idea what this means as far as being able to get pregnant after this.

I’m going to see another RE in the area today.  I am NOT going back to my other doctor, obviously.  I’m really afraid of what this new doc will say.  I hope I can keep trying to have a baby, but I’m really sick right now.  I only have until October to do a donor cycle, and it probably won’t be until close to then before I’m off of this PICC line.   – By the way, this PICC line situation is completely freaking me out.  It was a bacterial infection in my blood that caused me to become so ill.  Now you’re sending me home with a hole in my arm and a tube with direct access to my bloodstream?  Holy anxiety attack.  I had to be medicated for them to put this thing in, I was so anxious.  Now every time I have to do it I get dizzy and anxious.  It’s horrible.  I hope, hope, hope the new doc will say I can still go ahead and try to get pregnant.  I can’t believe this is happening.  The past couple of weeks seem like a blurry bad dream.  The positive in all of this is that my husband and I have become closer every day during this craziness.  Just when I thought I couldn’t love him any more, I do.  In that respect, I’m the luckiest woman ever.

This entry was posted in IVF, Personal Stories. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to I’m Finally Home – You’re Not Going to Believe This

  1. Louisa says:

    You are going to be OK, you will still be able to try to get preganant. I’m a nurse I know these things. Hang in there and thank god you are going to see a new RE.

  2. Alexicographer says:

    I’m so sorry you’re dealing with this.

    I’m about as litigious as a sea slug (honestly) but I cannot imagine it is the standard of medical care to perform an egg retrieval without prescribing antibiotics. Is that really what happened, and if so, might you want to talk with a lawyer? I certainly agree that you don’t want any further “care” from your former RE and I’m not advocating taking him to the cleaners for fun, but I’d hope (again, assuming I understand the facts of what happened and also that I “know” what good practice should be, which maybe I don’t) he’d cover the entire cost of your treatment for the infection as well as any missed work, an additional treatment cycle (performed by someone else) and perhaps a DE cycle too based on what you say about the way the delay is affecting your insurance.

  3. Danielle says:

    Oh I so feel for you! When the same exact thing happened to me after my first IVF, I freaked out over the PICC line because I have teeny veins and they couldn’t get it to work. So I ended up with a regular IV line in my hand and a visiting nurse came to change it every few days for me while I was at home doing IV antibiotics for several weeks. I can tell you that you will be able to try to get pregnant again! Everything will be ok once they get that nasty infection cured! Hang in there and I hope you feel better very soon! 🙂

  4. Alice says:

    What a nightmare. I am so, so sorry that this has become such an ordeal. Please try and hang in there and give yourself a break. You have been through a lot in the last month.
    Please let us know how the appt. went.

Leave a Reply

