Retrieval Results


I went to the doctor’s office today with the pine cone in one side of my bra and the coral circle in the other.  I figured I wouldn’t be having general anesthesia because a) no one told me I would and b) no one told me not to eat last night.  So I figured I’d probably be able to keep my bra on.  When I got there I found out the doctor’s office failed to inform me of the general anesthesia.  (It was only luck, fate or whatever that I didn’t eat anything on the way there.  ANY other day I would have at least had a cup of tea.  Crazy, right?)  I asked Gary to hold the pine cone and coral circle in my place.   He looked like he was going to cry.  This will be the first time I don’t have them during a procedure.

Anyway, I remember falling asleep with a mask on my face and nurses all around me and then waking up in a recovery area with no mask and looking at my doctor.  He was saying, “I’m sorry.  I have some bad news.  There weren’t any eggs there.”  I started crying and he walked away.  Nurses were all around, but he was gone.  I asked the nurses, “Did he say there weren’t any eggs, I don’t remember?”

The nurse said, “Yes, honey, he said there weren’t any eggs there.  Do you want me to go get Gary?”

“No.”

Gary looked so sad.  I don’t think the guys get enough attention in all of this.  He is grieving a loss, too.  He expected his kids to look like me.  When we got home I laid down in the living room.  Gary came over and sat with me on the chaise.  He hugged me and said into my neck, “We can cry together, if you want.”  We sat on the chaise in the living room and cried together for a long time.  That was one of the sweetest things he ever said to me.  Reminded me I’m not alone.

I’m going to try to change my doctor and have any more procedures, ones with a donor, done with a different doctor.  My insurance wouldn’t pay for a cycle with my own eggs, but they will cover a donor cycle before October, so I have to hurry.  I don’t know if it has to be with this doctor, the one who applied for the approval.  This morning I told myself I’d make a bunch of calls to try to change it.  I didn’t.  I hope I still have time.  I ate a whole box of Mike and Ikes today.  I think there’s like 5 or 600 calories in there. My head is reeling.

This entry was posted in IVF, Personal Stories, TTC. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Retrieval Results

  1. Louisa says:

    I’m so very sorry. What was your estradial level prior to the retrieval? It does not sound that that doctor was very compassionate or well organized (not telling you about the anesthesia). Lots of hugs to you and Garry.

  2. Amber says:

    I am so sorry. Was this your dr or just the person doing retrieval? Has anyone called you about maybe why this happened? I agree you should look for a new RE (may I ask where you are currently going as I am in MA as well)?

  3. Angel says:

    So sorry, to read this one. But you come across as a fighter I know you will continue to look for ways to make your dream come true. Although it didn’t feel like it at the time.

  4. Kara says:

    I welled up at your post. I can’t compare my experiences to yours, because the horror you described is just so…. But I was reminded of the time I showed up for retrieval and the few eggs I had already ovulated. Or the doctor call right before I left the house for a transfer to say that my one embryo died. There were the multiple calls from nurses to tell me not to bother coming in, my IVF cycles would be canceled that month because my FSH was too high. Just waking up from several retrievals crying and crying and crying that I was tired and couldn’t do it anymore. My story does have a happy ending, but I’m not removed from the sadness and every story like yours brings me such sorrow for the women who are going through this. I wish you all the luck in the world. XOXO

    • Lorri says:

      I am so sorry that happened. I’m glad I found you b/c I posted a comment on FT but it seems you don’t belong anymore. I asked you on that site if they tested your blood for the hcg trigger? I just went through something like what you experienced. I woke up to find there were no eggs, so my RE ran a blood test & found I messed up the hcg trigger. I have to wonder if something like this could have happened to you? I’m going to have to look for the link that explains telling someone they didn’t have eggs is an oversimplification. Usually the egg is stuck to the follicle & can’t be removed, which can happen w/a mistimed trigger shot or poor egg quality. I wish you all of the luck in the world!

    • That sounds like such a nightmare, Kara. I’m sorry to read about it, but I am so glad you’ve shared with me the happy ending. Thank you for that.

Leave a comment